Bulk Editing

Bulk editing will allow you to change details of multiple contacts, jobs, or tasks, as well as allow you to delete multiple records at once.

Outline:

Overview

Bulk Editing allows you to change Contact, Job, or Task details within your saved reports.  Using bulk edit, you will be able to change the workflow your records are in, the assignees, sales rep, among other things.

What is Bulk Editing?

Bulk editing allows you to change record details for multiple records at one time.  In this article, you can expect to learn what you can bulk edit, how to do it, and how to use bulk edit to delete.

How to Bulk Edit

To Bulk Edit, first, you will need to have a saved report to work with.  If you are not sure of how to create custom reports, you can take a look at our reports article here

Bulk Editing functions by changing things within the report.  It will not change anything outside of the saved report. 

To Bulk Edit, you will need to click on the report you want to work with.  Once inside the report, you will need to;

  1. Click on the three dots ('...').
  2. Click on 'Bulk Edit'.
  3. Click 'Update Records'.

Bulk Editing Contacts, Jobs, and Tasks

You will be able to use Bulk Edit to change contact, job, or task details.  

  • For Contacts and Jobs, you are able to change:
    • Update Type and Status: Allows you to change the workflow and status that your records are currently residing in.  
    • Update the Sales Rep: Allows you to change the current sales rep of your Contacts or Jobs.
    • Replace or Add Assignee(s):  Allows you to replace the current assignees for your Contacts or Jobs or add new Assignees.
    • Replace or Add Tags: Allows you to replace the current tags for your Contacts or Jobs or add new Tags.

Much like for Contacts and Jobs, you will be able to modify Task details.

  • For Tasks:
    • Update Type: Allows you to change the task type for the tasks within your report.
    • Mark Complete: Allows you to mark every task in the report complete.
    • Replace or Add Assignees: Allows you to replace the current assignees for your Contacts or Jobs or add new Assignees.
    • Replace or Add Tags: Allows you to replace the current tags for your Contacts or Jobs or add new Tags.

Bulk Deleting

Bulk Deleting is the other half of the 'Bulk Edit' feature.  Bulk Delete functions by deleting the records within the report.  It will not delete anything outside of the saved report.  The steps are the same for Bulk Deleting.  When you choose to delete records, you will be given a warning that this will permanently delete the records.  Only do this if you are absolutely sure you want to delete them.

FAQ

  • What reports can you Bulk Edit? You can Bulk Edit a Contact, Job, or Task report.
  • What reports can you Bulk Delete? You can Bulk Delete all reports except the built-in reports.
  • Who can Bulk Edit? Only users who have the 'Bulk Edit' feature option enabled in their access profile can use Bulk Edit.  You can find out more about access profiles here.