The QuickBooks sync created duplicates. What can I do?

Occasionally duplicate contacts/customers or jobs are created during the sync. They can be merged in both systems to preserve the child records contained in each.

Duplicate transactions will need to be deleted from both systems but contacts can be merged to combine child records (including transactions) under the same contact.


To merge a customer in QuickBooks:

  • Copy the customer name of the customer you want to KEEP to your clipboard.

  • Double click on the customer you want to merge.

  • Paste the contents of your clipboard over the customer name.

  • Hit ‘OK’

  • QuickBooks will ask you if you want to merge, click ‘Yes’


To Merge a contact in JobNimbus

  • Go to the contact you want to keep and click on the ellipses in the top right corner.

  • Click ‘Merge’

  • Start typing the name of the contact and choose one of the options on the drop-down

  • Review warnings and click the box next to ‘I understand that this action cannot be undone’

  • Click on ‘Merge’

Jobs can be merged using the same process but must be child records of the same parent contact in order to be merged.

You will want to make sure you keep the same record in both systems. Also be sure the record you are keeping, is the one that is syncing.