How do I add a new Contact?

Learn about creating Contacts in JobNimbus and what information you can include on their records.

To add a new contact to your account, click on the blue plus sign located to the left of your search bar and choose "Add Contact".

 

add contact plus sign v2

Fill out the details of your Contact in the given fields.

create contact field labels v2

1. Location

Depending on your Company Settings, you may have the option to assign your contact to a location other than the primary one you added when setting up your JobNimbus account. Learn more about additional locations here

2. Display Name

The Display Name is what your Contact will be labeled as. Since they are typically the same, that field will automatically pull whatever data is listed in the First and Last Name fields. You can also fill it out manually. 

Hint: Since it's possible to have multiple Contacts with the same names, you'll want to make sure the Display Name is unique for each of your Contacts.

3. Contact Type

This is where you assign your contact to a Workflow. The name of your Workflow will appear in the field dropdown menu as the Type. This will determine the job process in which your Contact goes through from beginning to end. Learn about your Workflows here.

4. Status

The options you have here are dependent on the Workflow assigned to your Contact. Since each Workflow indicates a different job process, you'll select a Status that coordinates with how your Contact is progressing. Statuses provide you a snapshot of where your clients are at and what steps need to be taken to keep business moving.

5. Sales Rep

Add the team member responsible for bringing this customer on board here. Those with Limited Access (see Access Profile settings) will be able to view and interact with the Contacts on which they are listed as the Sales Rep. This will also make it easier when creating reports to track the business each of your reps is acquiring.

Note: Only one person can be listed as the Sales Rep of a Contact. To link multiple team members to a Contact, consider utilizing the "Assigned To" field.

6. Lead Source

The Lead Source is where you will record how you landed this client, whether it was through social media, word of mouth, a marketing campaign, etc. Your Lead Sources can be reported on, and makeup 1/5 of your Sales Dashboard. You can customize these options under the Lead Source tab located on the left-hand side of your Settings.

7. Assigned To

An assignee is often the same team member who is listed as the Sales Rep. Unlike the Sales Rep field, however, you can add more than one person to the Assigned To field. Limited Access users will be able to view Contacts they are assigned to, just like Sales Reps. 

8. Subcontractors

If you have the Subcontractor feature enabled, you will be able to select a name for this field. Doing so will notify them via email that they have been assigned to a Contact. Multiple Subcontractors can be assigned to a single Contact, if necessary. Learn more about Subcontractors here.

9. Related Contacts

By relating Contacts to one another, you can access information such as Activity, Documents, Tasks, and Photos that have been linked to one from the other Contact's page. This will also give you the option to communicate (i.e. email) with any related Contact, without having to navigate to their individual records. Learn more about relating Contacts here

10. Tags

Tags are a convenient way to group Contacts together and easily report on those who might otherwise have no connection. Whether you create a tag to label customers who were affected by a certain storm, or if you want to keep track of the customers who qualify for some special treatment, tagging is the way to do so. Since tags are fully reportable, you can create a custom report and filter by that specific tag. Learn more about reporting here.

Note: To remove a tag from the system, all instances of the tag must be deleted from each and every field to which it was added. Click the "X" next to a tag in the dropdown menu of the field to remove it. Once this has been done to all records on which it is listed, it will no longer appear.

 

Want to add more details to your Contact's profile? Check out our article about Custom Fields.