Groups

Purpose

The Groups feature allows you to create different teams with managers in JobNimbus. It allows your managers and team leads with limited access to manage and view your team members' Contacts and Jobs in JobNimbus.

Before we Get Into it

If you have decided you will be using the Groups feature, write your team members down on a piece of paper. Break your team members up into teams, ensuring you included at least one manager and one team member in each team. These teams will be your groups.

You will then need to enable the Groups feature.

Enabling Groups

To enable groups, click on your name in the top right corner and select "Settings" from the drop-down menu. Then, select "Features" from the menu on the left and click on the "Enable" button to the right in the Groups row.

Group - Feature Enable

Overview

Using the groups feature, you can customize your JobNimbus team experience by creating teams with managers, allowing limited access users to have oversight of their team.

Creating Groups

After enabling the Groups feature, a new tab will become available in the Settings menu. To create a new group, select "Groups" from the menu on the left and click the "Add Group" button.

Group - Add Group

This will bring up the Add Group window.

Group - Add Group Window

In the Add Group window, you can:

  1. Add a group name. This group name should be descriptive for your team.
  2. Add a manager or managers to the group. Clicking in the text field will pull up a drop-down menu of your team members for you to choose from. Adding a manager will allow team members with limited access to not only view the records and tasks they are assigned to, but also the records and tasks assigned to the team members within their group.
  3. Add a team member or members to the group. Clicking in the text field will pull up a drop-down menu of your team members for you to choose from. Team members in the group with limited access will only be able to view the records and tasks they are assigned to.

To learn more about access profiles and how they affect what your team members view in your JobNimbus account, read in our article here.

After you create your groups, you can manage them in your Groups. Each group can be updated by clicking on the 3 dots to the right of the group name and selecting "Edit" from the drop-down menu.

Group - Group Example

Using Groups with Boards

You can use groups to customize who sees which board in your Contacts and Jobs. This will help your team members to only see what they need to. To learn about creating Boards, read our article here.

To customize your boards to be viewable to only a specific group or groups, go back to your Dashboard and select either your Contacts or Jobs, then make sure you are viewing your Boards by choosing Boards in the top of the page.

Boards Access

Once in the Boards view, click on the board you wish to update, and choose "Edit" from the drop-down menu.
Boards Menu Edit

In the Edit Board window, there will be a new option in the "Available to" drop-down menu. To change which group or groups sees the board, change the "Available to" option to "Specific Groups".

Group - Edit Board

Under the "Available to" drop-down menu, a new option will appear, "Groups". Clicking in the text field will pull up a drop-down menu containing your groups for you to choose from. After you update your board with the correct group, click on the "Save Board" button.

A board that is available only to specific groups will only be viewable by the specific group or groups.

Using Groups with Reports

You can use groups to customize who sees specific custom reports. This will help your team members to only see information and records they need to. To learn about creating reports, read our article here.

When you are creating or editing your report, there will be a new option in the Available to drop-down menu for "Specific Groups". Selecting this option will allow you to choose to which group or groups that report is available for viewing.

Groups Reports

After saving the report with it available to specific groups, it will appear in the My Saved Reports section of the Reports tab, but will only be viewable by team members and managers of the specific group or groups you chose.

Do's and Don'ts

Do

  • Use groups to give managers with Limited Access Access Profiles access to their team's data

Don't

  • Use groups if all managers have Full Access Access Profiles

FAQ

  • What is the Group feature for?
The Group feature is used to control a group's access to certain Contacts or Jobs.

 

Contact Us

Still have a few questions about setting up your company’s groups? Contact Support at (855) 964-6287 or via email at support@jobnimbus.com.

Have a great idea to help us improve our groups feature? Recommend features and vote for requests at JobNimbus Feedback!